All Star “Line Up”

All Star Line Up!

All Star “Line Up”.

Stacking method used to create this shot, 1hour 12mins = 144shots (F5 / 30secs / ISO 100 12mm) 1dark frame and one frame exposed for the foreground, flashed several times natural flash. More details to post when its not 2:50am!

UPDATE

Ok am a bit more awake now, so here’s some more details…

I have to be fair that one of the first things that attracted me to night photography, was star trails. Its definitely one of the things that makes this field of photography so exciting and also exceptionally beautiful. Normally when I am out light painting, shots are taken in one exposure, one of the main reasons for this being that there are plenty of people out there who are ready to dismiss this form of photography as mere photoshop fakery, so anything that can be done to reduce the doubters and minimise the need for post processing is fine by mean. Besides this means less work for me ;-) Regardless of this most exposures are between 3 and 5mins, at very max 10, so any stars are a bonus and probably only tiny streaks. If I am looking to get some stars in the frame at the same time and even then this means an exposure of 25mins or so. The problem with this is the amount of time needed afterwards to noise reduce (usually the same as the length of exposure) and secondly lighting needs to be continually built up, to avoid fading or washed out colours.

So I was extremely pleased when I learned recently of a process called stacking, the best tutorial for this I have found was on a fellow photographers blog / site. Dan aka Liquid In Plastic has used this technique to great effect and a link to his very well explained tutorial can be found on the side of my page, under tutorials.

You should check out Dan’s work generlly as it is exceptional. The method he employs and indeed I did too, works a treat. I’m not gonna try to replicate his tutorial as I havent the patience and his explanation doesnt need adapting. The only thing i did differently was shoot RAW instead of JPEG as my 20D is a little old now and can get a touch noisey. Also I was shooting in a built up area with lots of nasty Orange Sodium Vapour lighting which can mean lots of light pollution, so wanted to be able to have some control over this.

8 Responses to “All Star “Line Up””


  1. 1 Adcuz 22/09/2008 at 17:56

    I’ve got to try this stacking at some point. You certainly nailed it!!

  2. 2 tdmphotography 22/09/2008 at 18:34

    Cheers Adam, I would most definitely check out Dan’s tutorial, I cant wait to get myself to some good LOC’s to try this out. Combined with some nice light painting is gonna be the winner!

  3. 3 mike 23/09/2008 at 16:40

    fantastic photo. Thanks for the tips.

  4. 4 rvewong 30/09/2008 at 19:44

    Great shot, but how much time did you spend?

  5. 5 Colin 02/10/2008 at 12:51

    nice image,

    have you seen that bench have launched their new website.

    http://www.bench.co.uk

  6. 6 phojus 05/10/2008 at 00:11

    Love that shot Jon. Is it on Flickr?

  7. 7 tdmphotography 11/10/2008 at 12:14

    Mike – cheers and no probs!

    Bob – Too long but was worth it and reckon I can hone my workflow and reduce processing time needed etc afterwards.

    Colin – Yeah they’ve used some of my images from events I covered for them. Thanks!

    Jus – yeah man its on Flickr!

    Everyone – sorry for delay in answering have been in Budapest!


  1. 1 » All Star “Line Up” on Flickr - Photo Sharing »Digital Photography Trackback on 21/09/2008 at 11:06

Leave a Reply

coolphotoblogs.com my profile

photoblog-community

VFXY Photos

My Zimbio

Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory

Photography Blogs - Blog Rankings

RSS tdm photography Tweets!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 20,561 hits

