How Anyone Can Say Film Is Dead, Is Beyond Me!

Just been doing some film scans from back in the day when all I had was a lil Kodak APS camera. It was a nifty little thing, that often produced great reasults and lovely colours (though in hindsight that was probably the Kodak Film). Anyways I thought I would share some of the results, most of the shots are around 10 years old. Here are a couple of my favourites…

Born Free (From Capitalism)

America F**K YEAH!

Stencils were rife when I first arrived in Manchester and at the time I managed to capture what have become some well renowed and iconic stencils, particularly by Bansky. The Angel (shot at top) was actually taken on a trip down to London in Covent Garden. The leopard shot was taken in Manchester and the other two stencils (Liberty & Spam) I have no idea as to who the artists were but they are pretty cool regardless.

Fritters Anyone?

A True Salford Classic

I remember at the time been obsessed, particularly from a photographic point of view by graffiti and unusaul street signs (graffitied street signs – heaven!). I dont know why but those two subjects just captured my imagination. One of my favourite pieces of local graffiti was “Dean Lewtas The Grass” over the course of 6 months it appeared all over Salford and to a lesser extent towards town. I think I found it quite funny to imagine who this bloke was, what he had done, who he had “grassed on” etc, never did manage to find out so I guess it will remain one of those local urban legends.

3 Responses to “How Anyone Can Say Film Is Dead, Is Beyond Me!”


  1. 1 coxy 03/02/2009 at 17:13

    Maybe Dean Lewtas was one of those people that ignored the ‘Keep off the Grass’ signage, and so this message was more “Dean Lewtas, THE GRASS!” than “Dean Lewtas, the grass!”

    • 2 tdmphotography 03/02/2009 at 23:46

      Given the photos locale Coxy, I would say it means what it means. Also the bridge it was daubed on happens to be the one Morrissey was on about when he sung “under the iron bridge”

  2. 3 baraFumbpal 11/03/2009 at 18:04

    Very good site! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

coolphotoblogs.com my profile

photoblog-community

VFXY Photos

My Zimbio

Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory

Photography Blogs - Blog Rankings

RSS tdm photography Tweets!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

Rollin

Step Back

Twist & Stout

Acceptable In The 80's

B is For...?

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 20,419 hits

