What That Wabbit Said…

Bugsy Low Res

Yes I’ve had a bit of a rest from the blog recently but then I have been extremely busy recently and I find blogging is one of those things that once you stop its hard to get back into and the procrastination is (sadly) high on my list of personality traits :-(

So here’s a little update of what I have been doing…

Way back in May (God is it that long since I last meant to blog, see how easy it is to let it slip!) I shot the launch of Jessie Rose trips debut single “Forever & a Day” and as always they didnt disappoint in style and musical ability, tipped for big things I hope they make it as they are deffinitely a cut above some of the duller clone bands doing the Manchester music scene at the moment. They were ably supported by Zarif, who has recently supported Beyonce and appeared on MTV. To see more pictures from the night click on the picture above.

Later on in marvelous May, I was invited by the lovely folks at  Vice Magazine to shoot their Stag and Dagger Festival, co-sponsored by Firetrap up in Leeds. This one dayer spread over several 5 venues in the student district of the town was great fun if a lil hectic and needing a chaffeur for the day I dragged along friend, music reviewer and record label dude Ben Savage. Once we had worked that the running order was badly worded on the programme and starting at mid-day and we had 5 hours to kill, we nipped over to a mates flat and chilled for a bit before the bands commenced. On show were, strangly mainly American and (I think) 1 Canadian band, those we got to see were; Wintersleep, Abe Vigoda, Crystal Antlers & White Denim.  Not given a real brief by Vice, I shot the bands (as most in my possition would have) and got a few incidentals, however looking again at other event coverage their togs tend to go mainly for crowd, people shots and humor rather than concentrating on whats going on on-stage, hence the tag-line on their website featuring my shots “Sweaty front men seem to be order of the day” – made me chuckle after the realisation dawned on me I had sort of broken some sort of Vice photographer code of practice ;-)

2 days later, another yearly date worth checking on the Manchester calendar rolled around, tired and a lil photo-ed out we were at Eurocultured. Another great mini festival, that see’s New Wakefield and Great Marlborough Streets  shut off to cars and turned into a multi staged event with bands, DJ’s, Street art, food stalls and all manner of other little delights. To be fair I was to tired and busy having fun to bother taking many shots but highlights included Broken £nglish & Riot Jazz, Mark XTC (Old School Hip-Hop) DJ Set on the Space Terrace and a mention must go to a band from Poland (I think) who were somewhat disturbing but hilarious, Dick 4 Dick! Singing in very basic English about being uber-gay and all manner of other things, dressed in leather and daubed in face-paint.

To Be Continued (I’m off out for a pint ;-)

0 Responses to “What That Wabbit Said…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

coolphotoblogs.com my profile

photoblog-community

VFXY Photos

My Zimbio

Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory

Photography Blogs - Blog Rankings

RSS tdm photography Tweets!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 20,561 hits

